Sick Day

In general, I like to think of myself as a healthy person.  All my numbers and counts are excellent, I am relatively in shape, and the worst illness I’ve ever had was the seasonal flu (knock on wood). 

That being said, I am extremely prone to upper respiratory infections.  Like, seriously.  If there is a cold out there to be caught, it will find me and it will thrive.  The thing that really sucks about having an upper respiratory thing is that you feel miserable, but you’re never quite sick enough to justify staying home from school or work.  I mean, I did skip school a lot when I was sick, but technically, I could have gone.  

Today, I am at home with some kind of viral throat infection.  I haven’t been to the doctor, but I’m guessing it’s viral because a lot of people on my Facebook newsfeed are complaining about the same symptoms; sore throat, swollen glands, headache, general feeling of unwell-ness.  It’s fun.  

As gross as I feel, however, it could be a lot worse.  Usually, when I get sick, the worst part is the nasal congestion.  I have really, really bad allergies that used to make being sick with nasal congestion a living nightmare.  Fortunately, earlier this year I went to an allergist, got a prescription, and my nose has been like new ever since.  This is the first illness I’ve had since going to the allergist, so I’m hoping that if the crud does decide to attack my nose, it won’t be as bad.  Keeping my fingers crossed! 

Well, that’s probably more about me than you ever wanted to know.

But seriously, the good thing about being a writer is that sick days are never wasted.  There are so many things to be done from the “sick couch.”  And when you think about it, the only difference between a sick writer and a healthy writer is the sick part.  There are a lot of things that I need to get done.  For example, I have a whole pamphlet on formatting that I should be reading.  I have a few documents that need editing.  I can work on other stories.  Or, if I need to take a break, I can read some more Beautiful Creatures.  Though I’ve got to admit, I’m at least a hundred odd pages in and I’m still not impressed.  I really like the setting and the idea, and it is keeping me reading, but Ethan and Lena are kind of getting under my skin.  I like his friend, Link, better.  I think the book should have been about him instead. 

Oh, and I like Macon Ravenwood because I found out that he’s portrayed by Jeremy Irons in the movie. 

And on that note, I’m out.  Stay healthy, everyone. 

Leave a Reply

