A Writers Life For Me

This last week has been super busy, but last night, I finally found some time to get back to writing.  I have three novels in the works and an idea for one more that I am really excited about.  I’ve mentioned this before, but I am something of a commitment-phobe.  It is really hard for me to just pick one story to work on and stick with it.  Alas, that is how the creative mind works.

I do need to get serious about prioritizing my time, however.  I really want to be able to release my next book, hopefully as early as next spring.  I am fairly confident I will be able to accomplish this.  I’m just not sure which one it’s going to be yet.  As of right now, I’m pretty sure it will be the sequel to Cemetery Tours, since that’s the one I worked on last night and it’s also the one that’s been in my head the longest.  My writer friend also thinks it would be a good idea to release it instead of starting a brand new series.  He’s really smart, so I’ll probably end up taking his advice.

I realized last night that one of my very favorite things about writing is that you can have everything planned out in your head about the way your story is going to go and about what’s going to happen, and yet your characters can still end up surprising you.  I think a lot of people are under the false impression that the author is in total control of what happens in the story.  It’s so far from true.  The characters that we create have to act as we wrote them to act, not how we want them to act.  For example, last night, I discovered a whole new serious side to one of my characters that I really didn’t know existed until I wrote this one particular scene.  That might sound a little crazy, but it’s true.  You can never predict just how a scene or a character is going to play out.

Aside from that, I’m really just waiting for September 17!  I’m going around and passing out my little post cards with all the information on it, hoping to get the word out a little more.  I also bought the first of several prizes for the release party that I’m hosting!  I really can’t wait.  I think it will be a blast!

Leave a Reply

