Glee

My sister and I used to be two of the biggest “gleeks” you’d ever met.  I was wary of the over-the-top musical comedy series at first, but you know that any show that gets Josh Groban to appear in one of the earliest episodes is going to be worth watching, and for a while, it really was.  My sister and I had all the music, we never missed an episode, and of course, we loved all the characters.

As the show progressed and got a little more preachy and campy, we started watching more sporadically until eventually, we stopped watching altogether.  We’d catch up every now and then, but for the most part, our Glee days were behind us.

Although I was no longer a huge fan of the show, I was still shocked and devastated to learn that on July 13, Cory Monteith, who played Quarterback with a Heart of Gold, Finn Hudson, had been found in a hotel room, dead of an apparent drug overdose.

I never thought that Cory was the best singer.  In fact, my sister (a vocal performance major) and I used to tear into him on a regular basis.  We gave him credit for trying, but neither of us ever believed that a real music teacher would pick him for a solo.  At least not on the ballads.  He had a pretty decent rock n’ roll voice.

I did, however, love the character of Finn, and Cory always portrayed him in a raw, emotional way that I’d rarely seen in television actors before.  Most actors know the standard happy, sad, in love, angry, but Cory always seemed to bring genuine feelings to his roll.  He wasn’t Cory playing Finn… he was Finn.

I could go on forever about all the reasons I thought Cory was a talented young man, but I’ll stop because I know gleeks from all over have been posting about it for the past three months.

There really isn’t a lot that I feel I need to say that hasn’t already been said.

I did watch the Tribute episode tonight.  It was a fantastic tribute to a beloved costar, beautiful and heartbreaking.  I can’t remember the last time I cried for forty-five minutes straight.  It’s a little strange to think that this show used to bring me so much joy, and maybe it will again, but for the time being, I think any episode will just make me sad, because I know what’s coming.  I know how Finn’s story ends.  The saddest part is that it wasn’t some dumb, out of left field plot twist that the writers threw in to jerk a few tears.  This was a real loss of a very talented, and from what I can tell, very caring and genuine young man.  My heart and prayers go out to all who knew and loved him; his family, his friends, his cast mates, and Lea, who has been so brave in the wake of this tragedy.

“Goodnight, sweet Prince, and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”

– William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

