Poetic Reviews

To kick off my great indie reading and reviewing adventure, I decided to begin with three poetry books.  Now I have taken several English literature and literary analysis classes, but I have only ever taken one poetry class.  I haven’t read all that much poetry outside of the works of Shakespeare (love!), and I’m certainly not a gifted poet myself.  Unless you count that poem I wrote about Sir Cuddly B. Cockroach, because that was awesome.  

These are the reviews that I wrote for GoodReads.  

Night Poems by Ben Ditmars:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13421449-night-poems  

When it comes to reading as well as writing, I’ve always been more of a prose girl. I’m not a poet, nor have I studied poetry, so I’m always looking for a connection or a story to go along with the poems, and in Night Poems by Ben Ditmars, I found one. As I read, I imagined a young man, sitting all night in an arm chair by a fire, watching the night evolve, the moon rise, and thinking about everything; life, love, the girl he might be in love with who might be in love with him back, or perhaps who may have slipped away, and the complexity of what it means to be human. Mr. Ditmars effectively transforms his nocturnal musings into vivid images and beautiful words. Highly recommended for poetry novices as well as enthusiasts!

Dirt Road Dreams by Susie Clevenger: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13421449-night-poems

I loved so many things about this collection of poetry, but I think what I loved the most was how personal and relatable Ms. Clevenger is with her writing style. She bares her soul in this collection of well-written, heartfelt poetry that explores love, loss, joy, sadness, and most of all, dreams. All who’ve experienced these kind of “dirt road dreams,” the dreams that others say are impossible or silly, will find a kindred spirit in Ms. Clevenger. My favorite line in all her poetry came from Be Warned: “What fool would believe night has neutrality?”

From a Season of Sleep by Sreya Bremtin: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18366887-from-a-season-of-sleep 

The two words that come to mind as I read this collection of poetry were “artistic” and “romantic.” Sreya Bremtin is a romantic and passionate poet with a flare for description. She uses words and imagery to create scenes of love, lust, and longing in the appropriately named From a Season of Sleep. She writes from the perspective of one who has been awaked by passion, and it leaves readers yearning for more.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll begin with Sandcastle by Justin Bog and Confronting the Demon by Ciara Ballintyne.  That is, if I’m not at a Bon Jovi concert!  *Fingers Crossed*  

Shot through the heart and you’re to blame, Darlin’ you give lo-o-ove a bad name!  

 

One thought on “Poetic Reviews

Leave a Reply

