Icemageddon

Well, it’s here.  That big winter storm that North Texans have been dreading for days hit with full force last night around midnight.

Before I get into that, though, here are a few scenes from the hours leading up to the Ice Storm of the New Century.

Image

For the first time in my life, I went to the grocery store… and there were NO shopping carts available. THAT is how many people flocked to the store to prepare for the Winter Apocalypse.

Image

Bread is essential for the iced in Texan.

Image

North Texans preparing for the end of the world.

Later that evening, we still hadn’t seen any ice, or freezing rain, or even rain for that matter, and I was beginning to wonder if maybe it was going to miss us.  Around ten o’clock, however, the rain started.  It was just rain at first, but it was a downpour.  The streets outside were flooded, but not frozen.  Not yet, anyway.

About two hours later, that rain turned into ice pellets.  It started collecting in the streets and grass almost immediately.  Our power surged a few times, but fortunately, it never completely failed *knock on wood*.  Our neighbors across the street, however, were no so luck.

Around one in the morning, I was writing and watching a movie, when all of a sudden, I heard a tremendous BOOM!  At first I thought it was thunder, so I ran to the window to see if there was any lightening outside.  There was no lightening, but the entire neighborhood on the other side of the street was completely dark.  No power whatsoever.  After watching for a few moments to see if the power would come back, a spark appeared on top of one of the transformers.  I thought that it was the power trying to come back on.  But then, the entire thing exploded in a blinding flash of light and another ground-shaking BOOM!  I’m not gonna lie.  It just about scared me to death.  It was like watching fireworks go off right across the street.  Sparks were raining down into our neighbor’s yard and onto the street.  Fortunately, it was so damp that nothing ignited or anything, but for a moment, I really thought I was going to have to call the fire department.

A friend of mine who lives in that neighborhood informs me that they still don’t have power.  Been there.  No fun.

Image

This was the radar last night at 2:15. That’s a lot of purple.

This morning, the world outside is white.  Not the good kind though.  It’s not the playing outside, building snowmen, crunching snow beneath your feet kind of white.  It’s the slippery, fall flat on your face, so cold that you don’t even leave footprints when you walk kind of white.  It’s pure ICE.  Seriously, it’s like walking on a giant ice skating rink.  I didn’t even have to kick the ice off my shoes when I came back inside from walking around.

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image

My poor car… 😦

ImageImageImage

Image

This is Ice Warrior Jacqueline Smith, signing out.  Stay warm, troops.

9 thoughts on “Icemageddon

  1. I made the mistake of trying to venture to Wal-mart last night too, hoping to beat the rain/falling ice. I planned on just grabbing a few things to last us through the weekend but then I saw all of the people in a panic and all of the empty shelves and then I panicked too, scrambling and trying to grab anything I could find. I’m pretty sure I walked out with, among other unnecessary things, tin foil, oreo cookies, and three lufas I won’t use.

    • Hahaha! That’s hilarious! I was standing in line right next to all the Christmas cookies. It was so tempting, but fortunately, my paycheck didn’t make it to the bank until this morning so I wasn’t able to afford them, lol!

Leave a Reply

