Lazy Day

After such a hectic and action-packed winter break, it’s been really nice to just take the weekend off, watch some movies, lounge around with my kitties, and read some new books.  I’ve also gotten a lot of writing and brainstorming in, which is always welcome.  

This morning when I woke up (way later than I intended, by the way), I thought about maybe going out to Target or maybe to Barnes and Noble.  I didn’t particularly have anything in mind to buy, but it would have at least gotten me out of the house.  Then I thought about it some more and realized that I spend so much time running around that it would be nice to spend one more day inside, writing, reading, watching movies.  Besides, as an independent writer and publisher, there is literally never nothing to do.  There’s always a manuscript to be working on or a marketing plan to devise or a blog to be writing or a friends’ book to be editing/reviewing.  

I read a quote somewhere about how a writer never really stops being a writer.  Even when they’re not writing, something is always inspiring them.  In my experience, I’ve found this to be very true.  It doesn’t matter where I am, I’m either plotting the next chapter or the next manuscript or narrating my own life inside my head.

So today, even though I am being very lazy with my sweat pants and Bath and Body Works candle and my Nicholas Sparks movies, I’m still going to be working and writing.  Because that’s what writers do.   

2 thoughts on “Lazy Day

  1. Hi Jacqueline! I love your post and I agree with you. I am trying to build the habit of writing into my daily schedule. I have started on my second book and I try and work on it when i have inspiration. But, sometimes just writing about a separate topic helps spark other ideas. I enjoy reading your posts!

    • It really does! I’m really trying to hurry up and get this manuscript finished so that A) I can begin the fun editing/publishing process (yippie) and B) so I can finally get started on some other ideas! Thank you so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

