Fortune Cookies

Okay, here’s the deal.  I know I’m supposed to be a grown-up and everything, but my favorite part of eating Chinese food is still breaking open the Fortune Cookie and reading my “fortune.”  I actually hate the cookie part.  I’m not sure what Fortune Cookies actually are, but I’m fairly certain they’re not actually cookies.  I think they’re more like dehydrated cardboard.  But still, the fortunes are fun.

Today, my fortune read, “Be assertive.  Your ideas are worthwhile.”

That’s actually a really great piece of advice, because the truth is I am not assertive at all.  I like to think I’m a go-getter and that I exude confidence, but that’s only me when I’m doing what I love or having fun.  In a lot of real-world situations, I prefer to keep to myself and not talk to anyone.  Basically, I become a little hermit.

You will not see Hermit Jackie on this blog or if you want to talk to me about writing or publishing or books.  If you talk about those things, you will meet OMG-I’M-SO-EXCITED-I-LOVE-ALL-OF-THESE-THINGS Jackie.  She’s very loud and very confident.  Hermit Jackie is different though.  She is actually very intimidated by most people and will try too hard to act cool and will then end up looking like a total loser.  Well, Author Jackie does that too, but at least she’s kind of funny about it.  Hermit Jackie is just embarrassing.

I think the Fortune Cookie really was onto something, though.  I really want to make things happen.  I want to finish my second book and see the first one go up in sales (which actually has been happening thanks to a lot of you and GREAT reviews!).  If there’s one thing I would tell every aspiring author, it would be do not underestimate the value of a good review.  Every time I’m browsing the Kindle store or Amazon and I see a book, I ALWAYS read the reviews.  Actually, I have several other things I would say to aspiring authors, but that’s definitely one of them.

In other news, I’m still working on the sequel.  I’m getting so close to finishing it, guys!  I just need to work harder and spend a little more time on it and a little less time planning my dream trip to Europe on Pinterest.  But you know, a girl’s gotta be prepared, right?

I feel like I really should be writing more about my work and my book, but I really have nothing except for thank you all for buying and for your readership and… here’s hoping you like the second one!

18 thoughts on “Fortune Cookies

  1. I totally relate to what you are saying, I am so outgoing when I talk about the things I’m passionate about, but when it comes to other real-world situations I am more quiet. I’m working on being more assertive though. I love music and my biggest goal is to be in the music industry as a writer or musician, I find that being assertive and persistent with your dreams is so important. Good luck with your second book 🙂

Leave a Reply

