Snow and Sequels

Well, I’m snowed in.

Of course, in Texas, “snowed in” means “there’s half an inch of snow on the ground but the last time I tried to venture out in these conditions, I ended up driving my car into a pole.”  Okay, so most of us probably don’t drive our cars into a pole (though I actually did), but I’ve already read half a dozen news reports and Facebook statuses from friends who have had very, very close encounters in this weather, so I really just don’t want to chance it.

I thought about taking a walk down to the park (which I actually walk around quite a lot when the weather is, you know, pleasant) and taking pictures of the snow, but after I discovered that I can feel the cold radiating through the windows, I remembered how much I really hate being cold and decided to spend the day with my blanket and kitty and of course, all you lovely people instead.  Why anyone willingly ventures to places with snow for vacation is beyond me.  Ski trip?  Only if by “ski” you mean “water skiing.” You know, where it’s WARM.  And there’s sand and palm trees.

I guess I should be grateful.  I have friends in other parts of the country who have it a lot, a LOT worse.  To all of you, I will say a prayer and I will continue to be thankful that I am not where you are.  There’s this joke amongst Texans that every time we have extreme weather, we have to tell everyone about it, even though those of us who live here are already quite aware of those conditions.  The funny thing about that joke is it’s absolutely true.  We genuinely believe that everyone needs to know just how cold it is here, even though we are definitely not the coldest spot in the country.  And of course, we all freak out every time there’s even a little bit of ice on the ground.

True story.

Oh NO!  I just stepped outside to check the mail.  IT’S SNOWING AGAIN.  THE FLAKES ARE HUGE.

And of course, I couldn’t resist.  I stepped outside to take a few pictures.  I’ll probably post them later because right now, my fingers are too numb to edit.  There is something beautiful and peaceful about watching snow fall.  It’s like being inside a water globe.  That still doesn’t mean I like it or anything.

Okay.  Part of me does like snow.  I just don’t like the cold or the now being able to go anywhere part.

Moving on to stuff that is actually relevant to this writing blog…

I’ve officially been with WordPress for one year!  They sent me a little anniversary note and everything!

Image

How sweet!  I’ll admit it, I’m actually really proud of myself for keeping up with this blog for that long.  This is, I think, the third blog that I’ve had and it’s the only one to which I’ve really committed.  Well, I was pretty good with my photography blog too, but then I used up all my space and yeah.  That was that.

Cemetery Tours also got another great review, this time on Amazon.co.uk.

Image

I’ve also finished chapter 24 of the sequel.  Chapter 25 is going to be FUN.  I can’t wait to get started.  Cemetery Tours is 28 chapters long, and I can’t be sure, but I’m thinking the sequel will be a few chapters longer.  I’m great with that.  I just hope people like it.  I was thinking about it last night, and I suddenly realized that I’m a little scared to publish it.  Cemetery Tours has gotten so many kind words and now for some reason, I’m afraid people are going to read the sequel and think, “Oh man, this sucks.  It’s not nearly as good as the first one.”  Hopefully, my editors will be able to tell me if something isn’t working.  I like the book.  I hope readers like it too.

Well, I’m off to go finish one of the books that I’m reading/editing/reviewing and then it’s write, write, write!  If you’re thinking about becoming an author, be forewarned: you never get days off.  Even when you’re snowed in, you always have something you can be doing.  Your brain never takes a break.  It’s not a bad thing, because I genuinely enjoy every moment of what I do.  I’m just saying, it’s hard to turn that “writer” part of your brain off.  In fact, I’m not sure it’s even possible.  It might just be the way we’re programmed.

Stay warm, everybody!  I’m currently in two layers of clothes AND a blanket.  I wish I had hot chocolate.

6 thoughts on “Snow and Sequels

  1. I just want to hug all you southerners with your worries about your 1/2-3 inches of snow, because you’re just adorable! Makes me giggle, especially after I spent twenty minutes digging my car out of two feet of snow yesterday. But seriously, stay warm and NEVER drive if you’re worried about the conditions.

    • Thank you, haha! I know, we sound like total babies and I am truly thankful that I do not have to do that. The only time I’ve ever had to “dig” a car out of snow was the time my sister was trying to back out of a parking place and there was a tiny mound of snow behind her and she made me get out and kick it away. I was not happy.

      In all seriousness though, Texans are downright hazardous on the road, even without the ice, but especially with it. According to one article, there were 600 wrecks today in Dallas alone. Thank you for your sympathy and I’m sorry about all of your snow.

  2. “If you’re thinking about becoming an author, be forewarned: you never get days off.” —That is a solid truth. I’ve been sick for the last three days, I’ve still managed to clock 14 hours. Congratulations on the strong review. It feels so good when someone really connects with what you are writing.

    Enjoy your ‘snow-day.’ Portland OR just shut down today from snow, so my wife get a couple days off too.

Leave a Reply

