Beautiful, Sunny Day

It’s still cold, but I can’t even tell you all how wonderful it was having the sun out all day!  It was energizing and rejuvenating and I loved it.  I really have been running around singing “Soak up the Sun” all day, which is part of the reason I posted the music video earlier.  I especially love the lyrics, “I’m gonna tell everyone to lighten up.”

You know, a lot of people seem stressed today.  We’re stressed about the weather (ME), we’re stressed about money, we’re stressed about relationships, we’re stressed about everything!  To be honest, I’m not really sure where I’m going with this.  I don’t have any sort of grand essay planned out.  I’m actually sort of distracted because I’m watching the Grammy’s Tribute to the Beatles.  I love the Beatles.  Seriously, is there anyone in this world who doesn’t?  This might make me sound like a terrible person, but I think one of the reasons things didn’t work out with my first boyfriend was because I realized I didn’t love him as much as I loved the Beatles.

Anyway, yeah, I’ve decided that the people of the world need to stop being so uptight and just enjoy life.  I’ll try to be more profound later.  I’m too busy enjoying the Beatles to be deep.

If I had a time machine, let me tell you, Id’ be in the front row of like, every one of their concerts.  The early ones, at least.  As you can see, I really love 1964 style Beatles.

Since I should probably say something about my book, or at least reading and writing, I FINALLY finished my friends’ book last night!!  It was good, different.  I thought it was going to be a book about a young adult finding acceptance and his place in the world and true friends and all that, but in the end, it turned out to be about… Mythical creatures?  I mean, you know me.  I love fantasy and mythical creatures and magic, but I really didn’t see that one coming.  He told me that he’s going to rework it so it doesn’t seem so far out of left field, and I agree that that’s the best thing for the story.  Still, I really enjoyed the book and the characters.  I’ll keep you all updated as he goes through the publishing process.  He’s really excited about it and I’m really excited for him.

I’ve also been doing up a little more reading on marketing as I put the finishing touches on the new manuscript.  One of these sites suggested making “Quote Photos.”  Take a photograph and add a quote from your book, or maybe even a quote from a review, and then post it on various social media sites to see if that generates any buzz about your book.  Well, since I was sort of stuck inside yesterday, I decided to try.

I guess all I can really say is now I understand why my graphic designer 86ed all of my ideas for a book cover on the spot.

ImageImageImageImage

For the record, the bride is my grandma.  Isn’t she beautiful?

Good night, all!  I hope you’re all warm and content with at least one good book that you haven’t read yet.

4 thoughts on “Beautiful, Sunny Day

  1. Heya Jackie! I’ve loved the Beatles for 50 years! Just starting my career at the time and now retired! Life gets away from us, doesn’t it?! Now….go see my haiku about our favorite group!

    Ron — URL furnished only if you talk really sweet!

    • So have my mom and my uncle. My uncle is the biggest Beatles fan I know. When he got his first smart phone, he spent hours just scrolling through all the pictures of the Beatles he’d downloaded and playing us different songs.

      Love the haiku! 😀

  2. Oh I grew up on the Beatles and I love them still! I have “Here Comes the Sun” on repeat on some days (George was my favourite).
    I actually really liked all of those pictures for your book, but that one with the Angels really creeped me out!

Leave a Reply

