Squirrels, Turtles, and Lawn Mowers

As I may have mentioned on this blog before, I am a writer.  That means that I like words and writing, and I like to think I’m pretty good at that kind of stuff, but I have absolutely no sense when it comes to things like business, strategy, actually getting things accomplished, etc…  Fortunately, my dad is extremely business savvy and he’s been a great source of information and support in helping me get Wind Trail Publishing up and going.  He also helps keep me on track when, for instance, I decide in the middle of writing one book that I need to stop and write a whole other book.  His advice for me?

“You need to stay focused.  No squirrels, no turtles.”

The squirrels and turtles thing is sort of embarrassing.  My mom is sort of like Dug the dog from Up when it comes to squirrels and she sort of passed that on to my sister and me.  Okay, mostly just me, but I feel like throwing my sister in there too will at least make me feel a little more normal.

The turtle part comes from the time I was talking to him on my cell phone and I was crossing the street and I saw a squished baby turtle and I got really sad about it and completely forgot what we were talking about.  So, yeah.  No squirrels, no turtles.

I had planned to spend today road-tripping out to a wildlife reserve about an hour and a half away.  I love wildlife conservation and one of my ultimate dreams is to work to raise money and awareness for conservation efforts all around the world.  I’d also like to volunteer, especially with sea turtles and marine mammals.

Last night, however, the Cemetery Tours sequel took a new turn and I realized… I’ve got to finish this book.  I do want to go out and see the reserve, and I will soon, but I am so close to finishing this book that I just need to stay focused.  I don’t need to be taking on any new projects when I am this close.  So instead of taking the day to drive out to the reserve, I’ve been working on the sequel and learning how to work a lawn mower.

Look!

Image

Look out world, we’ve got a badass over here.

The original Cemetery Tours got another great review on Amazon!  I only need 4 more to reach 30!  Small goals, small steps.

Image

Thank you, Raul!

Okay, I’m gonna get back to writing now.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend, folks!

8 thoughts on “Squirrels, Turtles, and Lawn Mowers

  1. First of all, I’m jealous of your weather. It snowed like crazy here today and I’m pretty sure the temperature is below zero again. I’m so sick of snow I’m ready to leave Michigan.

    I have many of the same problems when I’m writing. I get caught up in side projects and have trouble finishing stuff. But…I just want to write so many things. Well, at least you have a published novel. I’m still working on getting there.

    I’ve got a side project I’m working on that is a blog to post all of the short fiction I’ve written that I never intended to publish. It might get me a few fans, your know?

    I’ll try to get a copy of your book as soon as I get some spending money.

    • Don’t be too jealous. We’re iced in again today. Oh, the joys of living in Texas! I’m so ready for summer. I’ll take 110 degrees over ice ANY DAY.

      I know how you feel. I have several folders of different projects that are just waiting to be written. Some, I’ve had in my head forever, but the only way I ever really get anything done is to focus on one thing at a time. I figure at least we never have to worry about what we’re going to write next! I have ideas for at least two more sequels in the Cemetery Tours series, a trilogy, two or three stand alone novels, and a fairy tale book.

      And yes, blogging is one of the best ways to get your work out there! I love my blog, and I’ve met some really great writers and friends all over the world with it!

      And thanks! Keep me updated on your progress. And if you have any questions about indie publishing, feel free to ask.

      • It is, but at the same time it is very liberating and, to be honest, it seems a lot more arduous than it actually is. I think a lot of books (I read SEVERAL) and articles try to make it seem like this big, scary process, but really, if you make a list of things you need to do, set a schedule, and just do it, it’s really not all that bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

