Taking Pictures

I got to answer a lot of questions over my book reading and signing weekend in Denison.  Several questions were of course, about the book and about the publishing process, but the question I was asked most frequently is one I’ve been getting all my life.

How old are you?

I was an early bloomer.  I went from a tall and slightly gawky kid to a 5’6, curvy preteen practically overnight.  Starting at age ten, people tended to think I was much older than I actually was.  When I went in to take the test for my middle school, people thought I was testing for Sr. High School.

Then I got to college… then grad school… and something strange happened.

People still thought I was in high school.

I have to admit, I kind of loved it.  I love that people now look at me and think that I’m younger than I actually am.  It was no fun being the giant kid who looked six years older than her classmates.  I’m still flattered every time I get carded for buying alcohol (though that only happens now when I’m not wearing makeup).

However, as someone who is hoping to expand her business and get her name out there in the world of fiction, I figure I need to be a little more professional, a little more mature, and that means people need to know that no, I’m not a kid, I’m actually a lot smarter than I act, and I do know what I’m doing.  That’s why I contacted my photographer friend for a photoshoot.  The picture that I use on all my social media sites was taken back in 2010.  I wanted to look a little older and a little more professional, and I think she’ll do an amazing job with the pictures.  Her photography is AWESOME.

You can find her website here: http://www.kaylynnkrieg.com

And her Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/kaylynnkriegphotography

We shot around one my favorite areas, White Rock Lake.  It’s perfect because that Lake happens to be one of the most notoriously haunted spots in Texas, and I even mention it in Cemetery Tours!

The Lady of White Rock Lake is a legend that every Dallasite knows.

To quote Kate Avery in Cemetery Tours“You’ve never heard the story?  The Lady of the Lake is the ghost of a woman who’s said to haunt this area.  According to the legend, she drowned in this lake sometime during the 1920’s.  Some say it was a car accident, some say she killed herself.  But over the years, several people driving around the lake late at night have reported seeing a young women, dressed in a wet gown, stopping drivers and asking them for a ride home.  Then, once she’s in the back of the car, she vanishes and leaves a puddle on the seat.”

A friend’s father absolutely insists that he’s seen this woman.  They used to live around the lake.  My friend and I used to drive around the lake late at night looking for her, but I have yet to actually see her.  Maybe one day…

The photoshoot was a lot of fun, and Kaylynn is just so fun to work with.  The only downside was I had my first allergic reaction to a plant!  Okay, scratch that.  I’m allergic to all plants, but usually, they only make me sniffle and sneeze.  I’ve never had a reaction just because I came into contact with one, but wow, it stung.  I know it wasn’t poison ivy, because I checked the area and besides, I’m not allergic to poison ivy (ironically).  At first, I thought I’d accidentally scratched myself or sat in an ant bed, but it just turns out that there is this one plant that really does not like my skin.  Or vice versa.  It still hurts a little, but the pharmacist just told me to use some hydrocortisone cream and take a Benadryl and I should be fine.

And that’s probably more than you ever wanted to know about me.

On the bright side, Cemetery Tours got another great review.

Image

You can check out her FB page at: https://www.facebook.com/Billyewrites

Good night, everyone!

Leave a Reply

