Texas Stereotypes

A lot of my friends are Texans who have moved to other states.  They all love their new homes, but they know that there is a part of them that will always be Texan.

Sort of along those same lines, I’ve been thinking a lot about characterization.  Characters and dialogue are my absolute favorite part of writing both new and old stories.  I love figuring out what motivates them, what they value, who and what the like or dislike, what irritates them.  Characters, people in general, are interesting!  Something that I’ve always found particularly fascinating is the way that other people perceive each other.

Southerners and Texans are often stereotyped as horse-riding, beer-swigging, gun-toting rednecks.  I guess in some parts, that’s not entirely inaccurate.  Other times, Texans and Southerners are portrayed with thick, and I do mean THICK Southern drawls and politically insensitive and religious to the point of ignorance.  Again, I’m sure there are people like that out there, but every accent I’ve ever heard has been extremely exaggerated.

That being said, I’ve decided to list out a few typical Texas/Southern stereotypes to see how well I conform to the standards.  These are in no particular order and I won’t list every stereotype in the book, but it’s something I thought would be kind of fun.

Texas Stereotypes

“Y’all” – Yes, I definitely use “y’all.” I probably say “y’all” more than I say my own name. Even my characters say “y’all.”

Sweet Tea – Most Texans really do love their iced tea, but I’ve never been a tea drinker. I like water.

Perpetual Tan Lines – True.  Always true.

Horses – I have friends who ride horses, but I’ve only ridden a horse once in my life. As it turns out, I’m actually allergic to horses.

Bluebell Ice Cream – Best. Ice. Cream. Ever.

Bluebonnets – Like most Texans, I am obsessed with bluebonnets. My parents have the stereotypical picture of me in a field of bluebonnets as a kid.

Barbecue – Love.

Cowboy Boots – They’re not expensive or fancy, but I love mine!

Dr. Pepper – I don’t like soft drinks.

Guns – I’ve never shot a gun in my life. I do want to go to a shooting range sometime though.

Political Beliefs – Oh, I’d rather not go too far into my beliefs. I don’t want to start any sort of heated discussion. Let’s just say I am moderate, non-confrontational, and I believe in equality.

Beer – I like the taste of beer, but I do not like the carbonation.

Country Music – Love it.  I have an entire playlist dedicated entirely to Country Music.  One of the best concerts I’ve ever been to was Roger Creager.  We ate barbecue and sat on a blanket under the stars and couples all around were two-stepping.  Super stereotypical and awesome.

Rednecks – I am definitely not a redneck. My idea of “roughing it” is a comfy cabin in the woods with indoor plumbing and air-conditioning.

Line Dancing – I think it’s impossible to live here and not know how to line dance.

Snow Shuts Everything Down – We don’t refer to one inch of ice as Snowmageddon or Icepocalypse for nothing. The only time I tried driving on ice, I totaled my car.

Tubing – One of the funnest things ever.

Cowboy Hat – I wore mine to DisneyWorld.

God – Yes.

Conclusion – If I was a character in a story, I think I’d be a stereotype.

6 thoughts on “Texas Stereotypes

  1. I love this. I don’t know why Texans in literature haven’t seemed to catch up with Texans in reality, but I’m a good chunk of these myself.

    By the way? No ‘.’ in Dr Pepper. 😛

    • It does happen. My Daddy is from Fort Worth and my accent always comes out whenever I hang out with him!

      I’ll admit though, the one time I was in New Jersey, I heard the accent, and I turned to my sister and was like, “OMG! They do talk like that!” It was pretty exciting.

  2. And so the Floridian raised in Texas for 12 years will go down your list:

    1. Oh ya’ll.

    2. I do sweet tea when there is no lemonade.

    3. I don’t play fast and loose with the Death Star.

    4. I want to learn to ride a horse.

    5. Yes to BlueBell. Just yes. Hagan Don’t. BlueBell. Just YES!

    6. Totally missed out on the Bluebonnet thing.

    7. I even do vegan barbecue.

    8. I bought my pink cowgirl boots in Tennessee. I know.

    9. Dr. Pepper? I have to be REALLY thirsty. Or PMSing.

    10. I have fired several guns. It was awesome. I suggest building more upper body strength. That whole jerk back thing is real and a little scary if you aren’t expecting it. I was taught by an Oklahoman. I intend to get my conceal and carry and I have asked him to help me with that. You and I should ride up there sometime. He and his family would welcome us.

    11. Total Anarchist.

    12. No beer. My father used to slip a wee bit in my bottles to get me to sleep. Nearly forty years later and I am an insomniac.

    13. OH YES COUNTRY MUSIC. ESPECIALLY BLUEGRASS! I feel great sorrow for people who “don’t like” country music. I have been known to look down on these haters with complete disdain.

    14. “Well I like my lovin’ done country style, and this little girl would walk a country mile, to find her a good old slow talkin country boy, I said a country boy…”

    15. Still haven’t gone line dancing!

    16. I hated kid prison and have always had a love/fear (mostly fear) relationship with the Evil Ball of Fire in the Sky. So when that snow hit, it was like manna from Heaven.

    17. Haven’t gone tubing

    18. Don’t have a cowboy hat. I have a steampunk hat.

    19. Anarchist

    20. And I can’t wait to leave this place!

Leave a Reply

