#AmWriting

Hi, friends!

Well, after another busy, busy week, I am finally getting back to my bliss: reading and writing. It’s been so nice. It’s been especially nice because we’re smack dab in the middle of the hottest months in Texas and… IT’S COOL OUTSIDE.

I’m not kidding. It’s been like, 80 degrees around here. Do you know what 80 degrees is to a Texan?! It’s sweater weather. I had coffee and tea with a friend the other day and we couldn’t stand around outside because we were getting chilled. THAT DOES NOT HAPPEN IN TEXAS.

Anyway, the lovely weather, naturally has inspired the burning of fall candles and the viewing of several M. Night Shyamalan movies in anticipation of autumn. Now that it’s August, the Smith family will begin celebrating all things Halloween.

a57308226ef08d9bc4be10e6ed17c70b

I seem to have gotten off track. I set off to write a blog post about writing and I somehow ended up telling you all about how much I love Halloween and fall. But everyone loves Halloween and fall! It’s the best part about summer ending. And let me tell you, I love summer. It’s my favorite season. I am a summer kind of girl. But I can never say I’m sad to see it end because I’m always so excited about autumn.

Now that this week is over and things are slowing down a bit, I’m thrilled to be able to get back into writing, especially since right now, I’m working on two books. The first is the third book in the Cemetery Tours series, and let me tell you, I am so excited about it. It’s going to be so much fun to write this one. The others were fun too, but oh my goodness, this one is going to be cool. Then of course, I was driving the other day, and suddenly I knew exactly what I was going to do with the fourth one, so now I’m looking forward to finishing the third one just so I can get started on the fourth!

The second book I’m working on, as I’ve mentioned before, is the first in a brand new series. It’s one that’s been in my head for a while, but for some reason just never worked on paper. Well, I finally figured out what I was doing wrong and how to fix it. Once I get closer to publishing it, I can tell you more about it, but for now, I’m just having a blast finally writing it the way it’s meant to be written. I’m writing it so fast that I know I’m going to have to go back and make several revisions. However, with a brand new project, that’s bound to happen. Getting a first draft out is my main priority right now and I’ve got to be honest, I’m loving it.

I’ve also been keeping an eye out for more events that I can attend in the area. I still have a few emails to send and a few calls to make. But hey, that’s just the life of an independent artist. It doesn’t matter if you’re a writer or a musician or an artist or a filmmaker. When you’re independent, there is always something you can be doing.

And with that, I’m going to leave you with this awesome quote I saw the other day when my friend and I were having coffee (though technically, I was having tea because I don’t like coffee).

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 1.51.36 PM

4 thoughts on “#AmWriting

  1. I had to smile at your reference to sweaters in August (while doing a quick calculaton to convert 80 degrees to Celsius). Not so unusual over here in England, but just lately it’s been more like typical Texas. Got to 37 deg in my front garden last week (that’s about 98 on your scale if I’m not mistaken), and it has been in the high twenties (mid eighties) quite a bit. Drowsy weather for us, and difficult to concentrate on writing!

    • Oh my goodness! That is incredibly hot for London! What are y’all doing with our weather? Haha! I hope the weather starts treating you better soon! I’ve only been to the UK once, Scotland in July, and I was in a sweater and two layers the entire time!

      • I’m not in London (about 90 miles away in the east of England) and I have to say my front garden gets very hot – it’s all white windows and doors.
        But apart from the occasional tendency to fall asleep, the warm weather suits me fine. I’ve only been in Texas in May and end Sept/beg October as was warned off Texas in August!

Leave a Reply

