Old Deuteronomy

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  As an older sister, your little sister is the most important person in your life.  She’s the one you would take a bullet for… or volunteer for the Hunger Games for.  She’s also your built in best friend and she’s stuck with you for life, no matter how many times you embarrass her.

My sister KJ and I are seven years apart in age, but she is my absolute, very best friend.  She’s my favorite person in the world and I am always so stinking proud of her, more proud than I am of my own accomplishments.

Tomorrow, I get to fly out to Lubbock to see her in her first professional production.  She’s a vocal performance major.  She’s been performing since I don’t even know when.  She loves singing.  She loves it the way I love writing.  It’s her thing.  And she’s good at it.  Oh my gosh, she is so good, and I’m not just saying that because she’s my baby sister and I’m biased.

Since the moment my family found out that she was going to be a singer in Lubbock Moonlight Musical’s production of Cats, we’ve all been ecstatic.  Cats is one of our favorite musicals.  We own the DVD featuring the London cast and have watched it about a million times.  And of course, my mom and I just love cats in general.  We’re total cat people.  Dad and sister?  Eh, not so much.  But that’s their loss.  What makes this performance even cooler is that she is working with professional actors, including the incredible and hilarious Todrick Hall and Ken Page, the original Old Deuteronomy.

I didn’t really realize how cool this whole experience was for her, however, until last night when she sent the text, “I remember being a little kid and watching Cats and seeing Ken Page.  If I had known that one day, I would get to sing with him…”

That’s when it all kind of became real to me.  This is only the beginning for her.  She’s always had it, that natural charm, talent, and determination, that helps her excel in everything she does.  I’ve always been envious of her in that respect.  Best of all, she’s making her dreams come true doing what she loves.  This is a huge moment for her, and I can’t wait to be there tomorrow night.

65573_737095349690982_5169594459005092667_n

Sister on a Segway.

And to those wondering, yes, I will totally be stalking Todrick Hall and Ken Page after curtain call.

8 thoughts on “Old Deuteronomy

Leave a Reply

