Distracted

I’m not going to lie.  I’ve been a bit distracted lately.  I’m still hard at work on books and everything, but life around me is also moving very quickly.  My sister is headed back to college in a few days and I’m going to miss her like crazy.  I’m helping a friend out with her new book cover design.  I’m trying to finish up revisions on After Death so that it will be ready for publication by October 6.  It’s also just dreadfully, disgustingly hot here in Texas… So hot that it’s hard to enjoy… Well… Anything.

To me, August has always been a bit of a slump month.  Summer is winding down.  Friends and sisters are going back to school.  The promise of September and fall and pumpkins is there… But it still seems so far away.  I guess in my case, that’s a good thing, since I still have SO MUCH to get done before September.  But in a lot of ways, August is such a drag.  I’m finding it hard to get motivated.

No, that’s not true.  I’m motivated.  I love writing and I keep writing every single day.  I just don’t really have a lot to talk about other than, “Yeah. I worked on my book today.”  Once September gets here, I’m sure I’ll be longing for the dull days of August where I could sit and do nothing.  But I like having things to do.  I like being with my friends.  I like being able to go outside and not feel like I’m melting.  I haven’t been hiking in so long because it’s so hot.

That all being said, I think I’m going to go write.  Much love, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Distracted

Leave a Reply

