Election Day

I don’t like to get political online. In fact, I don’t like politics, period. I am of the mindset that politics brings out the worst in people, and this election season, I think we’ve seen some of the very worst that humanity has to offer.

I’ve done my research. I have my opinions and beliefs. I’ve voted. Did I make the right choice? God, I hope so. I have so many friends and family members who are so certain. I kind of envy them. Because this decision was not easy for me.

But you know what? That’s behind me. And my personal beliefs are not the things weighing heavily on my heart right now. It’s what will happen after the election, specifically how we will exist, together, as the United States of America.

No matter who wins tomorrow night, there is a gory, bloody rift in our country that desperately needs mending. I don’t know what happened or who is to blame (if anyone is to blame), but I pray with all that I have in me that it ends. The animosity that exists between those who disagree is sickening. Grown adults don’t listen to one another. They resort to name-calling and throwing accusations and all kinds of other words and actions that only breed resentment. I understand that many people are standing up for what they believe and think that they are defending and honoring their principles and I do believe that those are good things. But you’re not going to change anyone’s mind at all by fighting. Nor will they feel you have any respect for them if you don’t listen.

That’s what we’re lacking this election season: respect for those who may believe differently than we do, who’ve had different experiences, who are facing different battles. Somehow, it’s become all about us, and unfortunately, I see that selfishness reflected in our candidates.

No matter who wins tomorrow, we as a people and as a nation need to do better. We’ve got to stop with the divisive rhetoric, the absolute refusal to listen or respect anyone’s opinion but our own, the name-calling, the accusations… all of it. We are better than this, or at least, we’re supposed to be. We throw our hands up in frustration when our representatives in Washington can’t compromise and work together. Is it really all that surprising when we’ve existed with the “us vs. them” mentality for as long as we have?

There is no us and there is no them. There is the citizens of the United States of America. And it’s high time we remembered that. Because we will tear ourselves apart if we don’t learn to listen, to respect, and to love. It doesn’t matter who is in the White House. It is OUR job to fix our broken country. That’s not the President’s responsibility. It is OURS. We’ve come to rely far too heavily on Washington DC. Do not put your faith in power. Put your faith in your fellow citizens. Because together, we form one of the greatest nations the world has ever seen.

God bless America.  And God bless all of you.  No matter what.

14938224_10209586858961957_6041040296480857393_n

3 thoughts on “Election Day

  1. That is the most accurate and well put statement I’ve heard during this entire ordeal. It’s good to see not everyone had forgotten what this nation is all about.

Leave a Reply

