For the Love of Music

You don’t need me to tell you what happened last night.  If you’ve been listening at all, you already know.  And frankly, I don’t want to repeat it.  I don’t want to think about it.  It’s too horrible to fathom.  And yet, it’s real.  How is this real?  It can’t be.  It shouldn’t be.

I don’t want to get political.  I have nothing to say that hasn’t already been said a million different ways.  Instead, I want to talk about music.  My sister is a singer.  Over the years, I’ve attended all of her concerts, musicals, and recitals for years, but one performance stands out in particular.  It was a few years back.  My sister sang with her University choir at a small Baptist church around Christmastime.  I couldn’t tell you what they sang that night.  But there was this one piece.  It was a glorious song, achingly beautiful.  And I found myself thinking about the human spirit, wondering if our souls could be defined in earthly terms.  And I think they can be.  Through music.

Music, to me, is an earthly manifestation of the human soul, and one of the truest forms of expression.  Plato said, “Music gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.”  To hundreds of thousands around the world, music is everything.  Music celebrates and mourns.  It inspires and uplifts.  It forges friendships and unites those who may have nothing else in common other than their favorite song.  Music is something that we can all share.  And it should never be silenced.  

My heart aches for those who have lost their lives, their loved ones, their sense of security, their innocence.  I can’t begin to imagine your pain.  I don’t know how to make things better for you.  I wish I did.  Please know I hold you in my heart and that my prayers are with you.  One of those prayers is that you hold on to your love, your passion, your joy, and especially your music.  

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 7.21.02 PM    

Leave a comment