Chapter 12

Last night, I went back and reread all three of my Works in Progress, and I realized something.  I’ve written exactly twelve chapters of each.  I’m in the process of writing each of their chapter 13s.  I figure, hey, that’s not bad.  All three of these books are half-finished.  But then I thought, well maybe if I had just concentrated on one of these books instead of all three, I’d be that much closer to getting another book ready to publish.

One of my problems, or quirks, or personality traits, that has actually taken me quite a while to come to terms with is the fact that I get addicted to certain things. It’s why I don’t let myself watch too much television or why I have to limit myself when I go and reread Harry Potter.  I have an addictive personality.  I become so focused on one thing that I enjoy that I begin to completely neglect other aspects of my life.

The three stories I’m working on now could not be more dissimilar.  The first, of course, is Cemetery Tours 3.  The second is the first in a new series that features a touch of mythology and made up places.  The third is pure YA chick lit.  Like, hardcore.  And I love all of them!  That’s something that really surprised me last night.  I still love all of these stories, even though I go through different phases while writing them.

I’m not sure if it will be possible to get all three of them out next year, but I’m hoping to at least have 2/3.  My guess is that those two will probably be Cemetery Tours 3 as I’m already very committed to that series and the YA Chick Lit.  To put it simply, it’s an easier book, will probably be shorter, and more of a fun project.  The new series will take more time.  It’s a lot more complex than I thought it would be, and I don’t feel I’m very good at complex.

I’m still going to try though.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 12

  1. I write in very much the same way…I might already have published a book if I had just picked one in the beginning to stick with and saw it all the way through. Instead, I have started a dozen stories and only one has its plot completely written out (though I know where all the others are going to).

Leave a Reply

